Can you make money? It is a critical question to ask when evaluating any new product or service. Here are a number of questions to ask yourself before bringing teeth whitening or any new service into your salon.
First, can you afford the initial cost to offer the service and what is the ongoing cost to deliver it? A quality dental grade system will start at around $1800 and the ongoing cost is low as no special training, personnel or certification is needed.
Next, determine if there are special safety or equipment requirements. The whitening light uses a safe, cool, blue LED technology and only requires the customer to wear glasses. Any spare room can be used and only a chair is needed. Also, consider the number of treatments you must perform to break even on the equipment and how much profit you’ll make on subsequent treatments. Most spas recoup their investment in as little as 10-15 customers and then make $75-180 net profit per customer.
So, let’s do the numbers. If your salon has 50 customers per week and only 5 % of them take advantage of this new service you will be adding $1,600 net profit per month to your bottom line and over $19,000 per year in profits. Add in retail products like whitening pens and enamel boosters and your profits jump to over $25,000 a year. As the numbers show, you CAN make money with teeth whitening. It’s a popular and profitable new service that is perfect for tanning salons.
Source by Kelly Lanspa